Affordable AllergyFree Food Options for Troubled Economic Times

Photo by Alvimann

This is the second time, I have heard from friends that they are moving. Mainly because of job options or lack of in certain parts of the United States. They are moving because they are able to get a job elsewhere.

A Portable World

Nowadays, we live in a portable world. We don’t live like our parents once did. We don’t stay at jobs for 25 years. And, a raise usually means getting a new job with more pay. Job security is unheard of and you can add bank security, as well.

Allergy-free and Organics Can Be Expensive

Which leads me to post a list of how to keep up an alternate lifestyle (allergic prevention) in these times. Let’s face it, allergy free and organic lifestyles are costly. There aren’t any 2 for 1’s in this type of market.

Quick Tips for Low Cost Eating

  1. Make it yourself. (convenience costs)
    (anything you see processed at the store, you can make. You just need to find substitutes to suit your needs.)
  2. Check your local grocer for their organic brands and buy it.
    (I get my soy milk there and it’s a lot cheaper than Silk!)
  3. Go online to different food groups and look for recipes.
    (with no milk, egg, peanut, treenut and seeds; I look for vegan recipes. They’re extremely tasty and I have minimal substitutions.)

See tomorrow’s post for part 2 in this series, I will also give you links to my favorite tried and trusted foods.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment